Zippos and Innertubes...

ok...this is a topic i just caught into on another thread and i thought instead of it dissapearing in that thread i would move it here.

I have been conducting an expieriment for over 3 months now with two zippos...
i live in oklahoma and this test was conducted in my house in a climate controlled room....

parameters: Length of shelf life of filled lighter sealed and unsealed with NO USE.

subjects of test: 2 full sized zippo lighters and 1 sealing rubber strip. seal is 1 inch wide strip of mountain bike inner tube i kyped from my wifes front tire.
here are the test findings..

week 1
A. filled till dripping from wick closed with no seal after 6 days 6 was dry.
B. Filled same way and rubber seal applied. Lit first try.
A was refilled and B just re sealed
Week 2
same findings
Week 3
Same
Week 4
A lasted 8 days
B no change
Week 5
same
week 6
A lasted 7 days
B no change
week 7
same
Week 8
same
week 9
same
week 10
same
week 11
A lasted only 4 days due to what i think was extreme temperature and humidity changes...
B is just now starting to she signs of fuel evaporation and depletion.

My conclusions...adding a rubber sealed lighter to you kit will increase your fire starting ability to be sure, but they do have a shelf life and depending on the regularity of use of your kit they can not be depended on for long term storage.

The added life that the rubber band seal offers is worth the time and effort ( which is none) of putting one on and having it.

( plus if you are really cold and have some dexterity loss due to temperature the rubber seal will aid in the gripping of the lighter.)

Very good post. I'm a long time Zippo user. Even though I don't smoke anymore, I still carry one.

Excellent experiment-very scientific and useful! Did you notice any breakdown of the inner tube from the butane fumes?

It's good to buy Zippos - if they make enough money, maybe they'll rescue another American knife company.

Thanks!