Recommendation? Looking for my first tomahawk. What to look at?

I believe the time has come for me to buy my very first tomahawk (damn, I'm still learning how to spell that word!). What should I pay attention to when choosing my first one? I will use it to chop wood and as "tactical". I don't even know where to start. Budget? Something entry-level.

Pretty budget friendly .
IMG_20230415_193002842.jpg

The Estwing that the previous poster recommended is a good one.

These two Cold Steels are great also. Very tough and durable, replacement handles are cheap and easy to find. Cold Steel did a great job designing these. The only thing I did is add some shrink wrap to the handles for better grip and also apply some blue loctite to the bolts. They have been known to loosen up under hard use but loctite takes care of this issue.

Cold Steel War Hawk:

WAR HAWK

Cold Steel Trench Hawk:

TRENCH HAWK - OD GREEN

Last edited:
I have lots of hawks. Even though I have a very nice RMJ Tactical hawk, a lot of times I just grab on of my Cold Steel versions. It just depends what you are looking to do with it. The Frontier is a nice bit-only type that is good for cutting, lightweight, throws well (if you're into that), and packs fine. The Trailhawk is one of my favorites for...well, trails. I have had a few of them, and I cut them down to something like right at 12". They ride well on the belt and give you a nice combination of cutting bit and hammer. The Norse hawk is...well, not really Norse, but it throws well. My first CS hawk was a Rifleman Hawk. It's a beast. Certainly more clumsy in hand but it is a hard hitter. I've had a pipe hawk and a couple other ones that I can't remember.

If you want a cheap entry level tradition hawk, the CS line is hard to beat for what they cost. The mentioned polymer handled ones are great as well. I would even say that I have had had pretty good luck with the stainless headed SOG hawks.