160OT w/"turquoise" handle

I recently bought a Schrade 160OT w/a "turquoise" handle having wood inserts. Can anybody tell me about this knife? Pat Z.

Pat, I watched that knife on ebay for days. I am trying to find a 160OT myself. It looked nice from the pictures. I am no expert, but I think it was rescaled, as I intend to do with a few of my old timer fixed blades. I was wondering if it was genuine turqouise or some polymer. From what the guys here have told me, the 160OT was made from 1990-1995. Maybe it was a special edition I've never seen, but uhfan, tex, LT, or Irv will surely know. It was a pretty knife either way! Congratulations! :cool:

Codger

You've mistakenly put me in illustrious company, Codger, so let me try to make an educated guess. A early rehandle job, by:
Santa Fe Stoneworks

Here's the Ebay link for you others to check Pat's knife out:
Pretty

For many years, that diagonal-stripe insert (of various materials) was Santa Fe's signature. Send them a pic of your knife, and they will be able to tell you if it is their work.

Here's a Camillus double edged boot knife that I had rehandled by Santa Fe several years ago. The handle is 'Black Jet' (jewelry grade coal, I think), wtih diagonal in silver and mother of pearl. I'd very much like them to do a pair of pistol grips for my .38 to match this.

Again, just a guess. Pat, you obviously have great tastes in knives, judging on what you've purchased on ebay. Welcome to the forum, you belong here.

camillussantafestorneworks.jpg

Phil

I don't have details myself, but I can tell you that it was definitely customized by someone outside of Schrade. We never made a 160 with turquoise. Didn't see it, but I'll bet it's a beautiful knife.

Were's the "headsmacking" imocon when you need it. I've saw that knife too, and just know noticed that the guy is from Smackover. I drive thru there almost twice a month. I didn't bid because I expected it to go well over the close. [/headsmack]

Congradulations Pat. :)