65mn hardness

i'm a bit of a newbie when it comes to blade steels. I've read several reviews of 65mn steel suggesting that it is a decent steel for swords, machetes, etc. These review say that 6mn is fairly hard with and very tough. But the rockwell hardness ranges from 28 to 34. So my questions is how 65mn can be considered fairly hard with such a low rockwell hardness. I have found nothing calling 65mn a "soft" steel. Someone help me out on this.

Because different people have different opinions on how hard is hard.
For some, 65HRC is the mininum
For some, 60HRC is the perfect balance point
I've met people saying that knife steel should not be any harder than 55HRC.

that must be the un-quenched hardness...

65mn should be able to get in the low 50s easily with a decent heat treatment - if anyone tested a blade and it came back 28-34, they got something without any heat treatment basically

it's similar to 1070 simple carbon steel, with slight additions of chrome & silicon
Thank you. Its just weird that when you google rockwell hardness of common blade steels, they all come in between 55 and 62 yet 65mn comes in at 28-34. Doesn't make sense unless what you are saying is true. Thanks for the reply.

I just Google 65Mn composition, it has 0.62-0.70% Carbon, this means that it could be hardened to the low 50s, not excellent but usable.

i'm a bit of a newbie when it comes to blade steels. I've read several reviews of 65mn steel suggesting that it is a decent steel for swords, machetes, etc. These review say that 6mn is fairly hard with and very tough. But the rockwell hardness ranges from 28 to 34. So my questions is how 65mn can be considered fairly hard with such a low rockwell hardness. I have found nothing calling 65mn a "soft" steel. Someone help me out on this.

It can't at 28 to 34. It's basically structural steel at that point. Nothing more. Maybe the spine is 34 and the edge is higher. Could be a diff HT.