97OT questions

Since I'm just a beginner here, please forgive me if my questions seem simple to those of you with more knowledge and experience. I've already picked up a bit by lurking here, but obviously need to learn more. If "a little knowledge is dangerous" I'll be lucky to not injure myself seriously, and soon.

A bunch of single and double-blade "97OT" knives with staglon-looking handles and no shields has popped up on e eBay recently. Some of them are loose packs and some are offered with certificates and boxes similar to:

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=6590868869&rd=1&sspagename=STRK:MEWA:IT&rd=1

Questioning a couple of the sellers about the origin and history of the knives, I got one "I don't know", and one obviously evasive answer which did not address any of my doubts. I'm sure the final days at Ellenville were chaotic, with knives and parts in all stages of assembly making their way into the marketplace. These no-shield handles look especially suspicious to me, and I'm guessing these are "put-togethers" out of the post-closing parts inventory? What about that box? I don't recognize it, but then I don't usually buy from wholesalers or the big mail-order retailers.

Mr. Clemente's "A Catalog History of Schrade Knives" lists the 97OT as delrin-handled with the Buzz Saw and Turkish Clip blades and the tweezer and toothpick in the end slots of the rear bolster. The only staglon 97OT's I've previously seen were the Ducks Unlimited models, which had a DU shield and no toothpick/tweezers or slotted rear bolster.

I like the various Trapper patterns, but am not interested in buying non-factory productions. I'm trying to "read the knife" per BRL, but my Ouija board doesn't work worth a darn over the internet. Any advice or information is welcome, thanks.

Woodsbum, please please please ask any question at any time. It is how all of us learn.