A Four Stone GP Bench Stone Kit

Hello Sharpeners,

I thought it might be fun to see what you all would recommend as a general purpose (GP) four stone sharpening kit.

Disclaimer: I don't have enough experience with different steels to feel like I can give my own recommendation. That's part of the reason I'm posting this. :)

Criteria:

1. This is a "do it all" kit. From 1" traditional pocket knife blades to 8" chef's knives. The kit should be suitable, perhaps not ideal, but able to handle a broad range of steels from 8Cr to S110V.

2. Please give your size preferences (LxWxT).

3. Please be specific with manufacturer, grit, model name whatever.

4. Strops are not considered and can be thought of as add-ons.

5. You can include one combo stone that will count as one of the four stones. Only one. If you do include one, please explain why.

Educate us. Have fun. Discuss and debate. :)

Last edited:
I am far from an expert, but no novice either.
Logic alone says for sharpening most any and all knife steels, diamond stones would probably be the choice to go with. Many of the super steels are going to shrug off attempts to sharpen with a soft stone. Your choice of grit. Most would go with coarse, medium, fine, and extra fine. Though some might want to extend one way or the other, perhaps a extra coarse stone if you are trying to rehab something that currently resembles more rebar than scalpel.

Will be interesting to hear more specific recommendations from some of the freehand masters here.

I am far from an expert, but no novice either.