a introduction , a copple of the usual newbie questions

hi, my names wayne and I’m an apprentice boilermaker. As I have been progressing in my trade I’ve started to become interested in varying facets of the metal industry.

At work, we don't use anything exotic (only l.c.s , al, 304/316 stainless ), but it doesn’t take long looking in the plate offcut bin and you start seeing blades of all sorts of shapes and sizes ha ha ha ha .....

so here I am, with a copple of questions :) .... thanks in advance for your time

I was thinking about making a simple, small paring knife first.

1. Starting out with someing like 1085 / 1095 spring steel would probably be the easiest blade material I think? (reasonable easy to bye and self heat treat?) if any one has a better idea.... thanks

2. would a set of "crayons" or a "tempi pen" do for a simple heat treat (I will be using an oxy torch to do it :( )

3. what the !@#$ are those 2 piece brass rivets people use in the handles called and any idea where you get them from? ..... been rakeing the net for even a name for them :)

4. I have seen something on a basic guide to making your own Micarta here I think, or did I have too many coffees this morning? if anyone could point us in right direction or tell me I’m crazy it would be appreciated :)

thanks for your time..... wayne

Morning Wayne,Heres a good link for supplies ,Blade Making Info,Heat Treat & everything else that might be of interest to a new Blade maker such as yourself.http://www.internetbusinesslinks.net/SupplierList.html
The fasteners you could be refering to might be "Corby Style fasteners" or "Loveless Style fasteners" . You will find them among "supplies" in the link.In regards to your "tempi-laq" question,a Magnet might be easier to use for knowing when you have reached "critical temp"