a lil slicer (4th knife and counting)

First post here (been lurking for a while some great info around). I wanted to see if I could get two knifes out of a one foot piece of 1084 and got a bit of inspiration from knifes like the BK 14 and esee izula and drew up a design. I feel like I need to work on my bevels and secondary bevels more also not sure if my heat treat was any good yet but other than that im happy on how it turned out. It was my first time trying to do a lanyard hole with an exposed tang also scales are roasted birds eye maple.

jiLWr7X.jpg

fnWbm1m.jpg

I'll give it my best go, given I'm not very experienced myself.
It looks like a nice skinner blade, but you just stopped before you were done. I've done this a dozen times, and I still do. There is a lot of hand work that can into that blade to make it look a lot better. That part takes more patients than anyting, but it's not "easy" to sand a knife properly. That said, based on the pictures, she just needed a good 400 grit finish to make it look a lot better. ( probably about an hour or two of hand sanding) I've stopped before I was done too many times and left a lot on the table on knives that were never going to be "perfect" but there's a lot to learn on knife like that.

I hate to see a first post with no encouragement. You got a functional knife, and many can't do that.

You do need to watch your bevels, this is actually the hardest part for me. I chase them all over and often end up with something I didn't intend to, but I'll chase it until it's right for something or it's dust. That's not a joke.....I've got a bird and trout that was supposed to be a hunter, but rather than a hunter I didn't like......I ended up with a bird and trout that I do like. I learned a lot in that process.

I do like where you where going, but it does look like in order to get two knives you made your handle too short. Never sacrifice on your design to get more out of your material.....you'll get more of less.