Advice for a Newbie

jb33

Gold Member
I've backpacked and camped for 20+ years but I am fairly new to the world of handmade knives. I always used a couple Moras, Benchmades, Swiss Army, etc. until about a year when I discovered Fiddleback. i'm still pissed at myself for not diving into the world of handmade knives earlier but, better late than never. A couple weeks ago I started looking at Osprey Knives and was hoping to get a recommendation on a model or two. Primary uses are camp, backpacking and food prep (I am not a hunter). For reference, the current knives getting the most use are Fiddleback Bushfinger, Arete and Handyman, Bark River Mini Aurora and a larger Survive GSO. Any advice is appreciated. Also, what is the difference between an Apache and an Apache K? Thanks.

You'll probably want an Apache or a Hunter. They're very similar and the difference is where the tip of the knife ends up. Once you know what to look for, they're easier to discern. They both have a drop point but the Apache tip drops more, if that makes sense.

The Apache has a bit of a guard. The Apache K is a variation Chris made to be more suitable to Kitchen use. It is a guardless model so you can use the entire cutting edge and the handle was moved up just slightly for more hand clearance. That being said, it is certainly capable in the woods, as a skinning knife, for EDC if you're ok with the size, and so forth.

Chris does outstanding grinds on his blades so even my 5/32 Hunter is a slicing machine. Either of these models would come in 5/32 or 1/8, Chris usually always does tapered tangs and usually does CPM154. The handles on the Apaches and Hunters just melt into your hand.

edit: You might want to also look at the Warthog or Guardless Warthog.

I'll try to come back here and drop some links and pictures for you when I find them.

Hope that helps,
Jerry