Advice on Dial Calipers, etc

Guys,
I need to buy a good dial caliper, as I'm just getting started doing a lot of knife mods, and I'm eventually going to build framelocks.
I need a good caliper for measuring everything, and I was wondering if anyone recommends a certain model for knifemaking? I have seen verniers without the dials, and then I've seen DIAL calipers, that are advertised as "one-rev" meaning, that one full revolution on the caliper= .001" (I think)
Anyhow, before I spend my $$, I wanted to make sure I don't go out and buy something, and then wish I had bought another model. Thanks for any suggestions.

I'm going to draw a lot (Change that to a LOT) of fire about this.
Dial calipers are a necessity IMHO. I also feel that you need an expensive set for some things.

I have perhaps 50 of them. Two are expensive and are reserved for very precise work. The rest are Harbor Freight/Enco/ overseas stuff.

Stay away from plastic. It flexes too much. Steel can be had with a fairly good dial for as little as $6.00.

Keep them clean. Especially the rack and track.

Test them often to make sure they repeat their measurements.

Micrometers are different. Always go for the quality stuff like Starrett.

Harbor freight digital calipers are always on sale for about 10-12 bucks.Get a couple.They measure to .0001 or .001,close enough for most work. Remember to zero them each time you measure.Like peter said - metal not plastic.I have precision measuring tools for gemology that cost over $200 that are not much more accurate than these $10 specials.I would advise staying away from dial calipers,mistakes in reading are common if you are not used to them.

razorhunter said:
I've seen DIAL calipers, that are advertised as "one-rev" meaning, that one full revolution on the caliper= .001" (I think)