All of my Bladeforums brothers and sisters are THE BOMB.

Fletcher Knives

STEEL BREATHING BLADE MAESTRO
I just decided to hit the "last" button on the list of threads in this forum, just to see what we were all talking about and what the FK's looked like back in 2010. It's hard to believe that I started learning from Andy back in 2009 and have been a full-time knifemaker since 2010. When I look at the knives from back then, I can't help but cringe at a lot of the grinds and finishing work. I remember some of the insane ways Andy and I used to have for finishing the knives. At one point in time, I set and cleaned the plunges with Swiss files. Oh man... I can't tell you how dumb that is, knowing what I know now. In fact, most of the methods I used to use for everything seem nuts compared to the processes I use today. Of course, I have to keep in mind that I was learning from Andy, who was himself, at that time, still a new knifemaker, and he had learned by what he could read on the forums and from word-of-mouth knowledge. Honestly, Andy didn't just teach me knifemaking basics. He really gave me an entirely new career and path. Pretty awesome the effect that learning to make knives as a profession can have. I will say, looking at those old ass knives, though they look very amateur, the designs and execution weren't bad at all. I wouldn't hesitate to pick up one of those old bastards and use the crap out of it. Back then, I still cared most about the same things I do today, being edge geometry, grind geometry, handle contours, bla bla bla. The ideas haven't really changed, just the quality of the execution.

As a little comparison, I'm going to show the original models and what they have evolved into and you'll see what I mean.

Here's the original Delta Foxtrot model, which was the first design I put out:

DeltasO.jpg

And here's a current Delta-5 (actually it's from about a year ago, but still. That's pretty close.):

d5a1.jpg