Alpha Hunter limited run?

Hi. I'm calling from Australia. I went into a shop a spied an Apha Hunter (fixed) with the rosewood handle and on the blade was "1 of 600". I'm new to Buck Knives and was wondering if this was a limited edition knife? If so should I grab it? It was rather expensive for here, I suppose..almost $300 Australian so getting on for 140-150 $US.

Roderic,

Recently, when BUCK introduces a new model knife they have been stamping the first 500 or blades with the printing you mentioned. After the intitial run they stop the blade stamping so I guess they are a "Limited Edition" if you want to look at it that way. Personally when I can find a "1st Production Run" knife I try to add it to my case.... ;) !

I believe they are doing this as a way to commemorate the new models and give collectors something to look for. They might also use a specialty steel for the first run as well as an added inccentive along with the introduction. The fixed blade Alpha with the Rosewood handle should have ATS-34 steel which is probably another reason the price seems higher.

RB...

I DO like "First Runs" and love prototype knives!! Thanks for thinking of me :)

I did take a look at the page you suggested and saw some real pretty blades there. I guess what I didn't mention was that if it isn't a BUCK, I'm really not that interested. I started with Buck knives in the mid '70's when I first started riding motorcyles. Back then all "respectable' bikers carried a "Buck" - my love for them as done nothing but grown, as has my collection, over the years.

Now if you happen to have some "First Run" Bucks stashed somewhere...... :D ;)