Anybody make their own steel?

I was wondering if any of you gentleman/women make blades from steel that you have also made?

Some have, at a gathering at Euphrates hosted by Gary House they have been making tamahagane annually. I attended one year, we built the furnace and made the steel over a three day period. It yielded about 115 pounds of tamahagane and I purchased about 80 pounds to bring home.

The event was attended by about a dozen people. Bill Burke was the furnace master and director of the proceedings, under his instruction the burn was a huge success.

Bill Burke or Gary House may be able to help anyone wishing to have a knife made with hand made steel.

I know NOTHING about steel from scratch. And I am going to prove my ignorance by asking a question! If a fellow had a bunch of steel shavings from using a file, could he use those shavings to smelt (or whatever it is called) his own steel? I've been collecting my file shavings for a few years and was hoping to someday, somehow, make a bar of steel from them. Am I dreaming? Thanks.

Yes Bill myself and friends have been smelting tamahagane for 4 years. We have both forged swords from this. I will try to post some pictures. 2000 lbs charcoal, 600 lbs hematite. Made 450 lbs tamahagane.

I know NOTHING about steel from scratch. And I am going to prove my ignorance by asking a question! If a fellow had a bunch of steel shavings from using a file, could he use those shavings to smelt (or whatever it is called) his own steel? I've been collecting my file shavings for a few years and was hoping to someday, somehow, make a bar of steel from them. Am I dreaming? Thanks.