AUS6 Steel Questions - Pentagon

Is this steel any good. I know aus8 is but not sure on this. I am not an engineer or chemist so please keep it simple for me. Thanks for the help.

AUS6 won't hold an edge like the premium steels but it doesn't have to since the Pentagon is mainly a self defense knife. Premium steels (such as D2 or S30V) are more suited for knives that get used a lot. The hardness is what gives these steel longer edge holding properties. The downside is the hardness makes it more brittle than a softer steel such as AUS6.

For a self defense piece, I think I'd prefer a softer steel. One advantage is that the tip would be less prone to breaking. Also, AUS6 is very corrosion resistant if that matters to you. SOG's heat treatment of AUS6 is very good. Their AUS6 knives are all made in SEKI JAPAN. An area that is well known for their cutlery since ancient times (when katana swords and other Japanese swords were, and still are, produced there).

To support john's post, my opinion is AUS6 is about the same as Sandvick 12C27/13C26 or 440A without trying to split hairs on the topic. It is more resistance to corrosion than something like AUS8 or 440C but doesn't hold an edge like AUS8 or 440C. But again I'm splitting hairs again. AUS8 has the edge over AUS6 but not by much. There is a lot science behind these different steel compositions that is way over my head. Bottom line is there isn't enough difference to make a difference if you keep it sharp.

I like the AUS 6 on the Sogwinder, sharpens up real easy and looks great. Most of my blades are VG-10, S30V, or 154CM and there is certainly a noticable difference, I used the sogwinder to punch holes in a jar lid and the edge was visibly manngled but a few strokes on the crock stick cleaned it right up.