Australians Buying via the Net

Just thought I should post a warning to fellow inmates of Oz......
I recently did a knife trade with a 'net friend in the US. One of the knives despatched to me was an Ek double-edged fighter .
I have just received a letter from Aus Customs telling me it is a "dagger" and a "prohibited import" and, unless I have permission of the Minister (politician in charge of the Department) the knife will be destroyed.
Checked the regs on the website....sure enough, double edged knives capable of stabbing are prohibited. So are icepick style and traditional stiletto blades.
I have been collecting knives for many years and have bought "daggers" over the counter so I assume the regulation is a new one.
Parcel was through the post. The law of averages says postal items have a 5-1 chance of not attracting Customs attention. Either I was unlucky or they have a pretty good X-ray system.
BTW, I have NEVER knowingly imported an illegal knife and will not.
I now have to negotiate the release of the other two knives.
DAMN

------------------
Brian W E
ICQ #21525343

Thanks for the info, Brian. I'm from the Philippines and am thinking of buying over the internet.

I ordered a knife catalog from an online retail store as a test shipment last December. Its almost a month and I haven't received the $17 catalog, yet. Its either, the net store is slow in processing my order, the local post office "confiscated" it without my knowledge, or I got ripped off.

This is why I'm having second and third thoughts in buying thru the net. But I have no choice If I want a knife from the US as these are not available where I live.

I guess I'll take the chance.

You paid $17 for a catalog. That doesn't sound right. even with shipping. Most are free and the ones I have bought cost $5.00 at the most. I hope you weren't ripped of.

Brian,