Axe steel choices, why are most low carbon?

I get most axes are in the RC 55~57 range and lower carbon to deal with impact stress.

The C70 German axes I have used seem a bit soft to be honest. Perhaps this is because of the types of trees they cut down? Perhaps American hardwood is harder or they hit fewer knots or have ground impacts with rocks?

Council Tool 'cheap' axes haven't impressed me much but, they do make a better grade I have little experience with. The FOREST SERVICE SPEC REISSUE Boyes axe made with 1084 seems to get a lot of praise so, I'm wondering about the steel it has versus the Boyes profile.

Are steels like 5160, 01, and similar really too hard to make a good axe? Who makes an affordable axe or hatchet with a 14" to 19" haft that is 1# to 2.5# in head weight in the $50 to $150 range for normal camp and household chores?

TIA,
Sid

" Low carbon " what gave you that idea ?
1095 vs. 1084 vs. C70 vs. ...

In relative terms, 1095 and 1084 have more carbon than a lot of other steels. Other alloying ingredients can increase hardness, shock resistance, and wear resistance, though most axes seem to be made from simple carbon steels so, carbon content matters a lot.

As noted in my original post "lower" carbon meaning relative to "high carbon", with C70 and 1084 being typically considered "medium" carbon.

Namely simple carbon steels are fully capable of giving excellent performance in the relevant range required of the tool. For the forces involved and the work being done, it's not of tremendous advantage to use anything "better" because the performance gains are in areas outside the scope of the tool's best use to begin with.

Well, I like the shape of the German axes I have. What I don't so much like is the soft 'edge' that dulls so quickly.

I realize there is a trade-off for impact stress on the edge but, I would really like an edge that lasts longer.