Axe Vs. Knife

Status
Not open for further replies.
6" live OAK branch.
Knife vs. axe of EQUAL WEIGHT (a true comparison).
We're talking AXE so lets say 2.5lbs. (Any Axe, near that weight)..
That's a big knife so lets make it a Bolo with a 16" X 2.5" X 1/4" thick blade.
Both razor sharp.

Which would drop the branch quicker?
A standing dead pine tree 12" diameter. Which puts it on the ground 1st.?
I was going to add splitting a seasoned log but I don't think it would
be fair to the "knife".
What are your thoughts?

I'm no expert, but I would put money on the axe, it has more weight behind the edge in a smaller area.
Just a guess.

The knife wouldn't even come close, to a proper axe. There was a time when I would have argued differently but that was when I had only used either poorly made or poorly maintained axes. It wasn't until I restored my first vintage American axe that I realized how handy a really well made axe is.

In my opinion a good axe especially for chopping has a thin bit and over all profile. It has convex cheeks aka high centerline or phantom bevels, a smooth ramp, a decent balance either from a pole or the haft, a thin comfortable handle with a well made swell, and a rasor sharp edge as it is extremely easy to put a fine edge and that little effort leads to an edge that will last longer in use.

You will not find these features on most all axes made today. Not the Swedish hand forged axes, and not even some of the more expensive axes. The only examples that come to mind are racing axes.