Basic #5 or Basic #7?(The Lady or the Tiger?)

I have a Combat basic #3, which I love despite not using it much.Same story with most of my knives!Anyhow, I think I would like either a #5 or #7 for general use and possible "defensive"carry.I want something that has a little more blade than the one I have, but is still fairly easy to carry.I like the kydex sheath that came with my #3. Is that standard now, or is it a special order?I know that Busse has other models, but I want another Basic.Advice?Thanks, James

------------------
AKTI Member #A000934
"Always just ONE knife short of perfection".

IMHO, if you have large hands go with the 7. The 5 is a great knife, but I find the handle to be a tad small.
On the other hand, check out the Satin Jack. It's a bit more $ than a Basic, but it more or less combines the best of both sizes and you can choke up better using the choil for small work. (the Basic choils are too small to permit this
wink.gif
)

I first bought the Lady and fell in love with her. Then I had to get the tiger to do those jobs the Lady shouldn't be asked to do.
biggrin.gif

Get'em both. Seriously.
If you like the Basic 3, your gonna LOVE the other two. Since I got the Basic 7, I don't even bother looking for large fixed blades anymore. What's the use?
I don't think you'll be disappointed with either of these AlaChoctaw. Get'em while the getting is good. These two are absolute "must haves".

------------------
The individualist without strategy who takes opponents lightly will inevitably become the captive of others.
Sun Tzu

Here's the deal. The 5 is a no brainer "don't even know you have it" carry knife, the 7, on the other hand, is a much bigger knife. It's a better workhorse, but you know you're lugging something around.