• Preorders are LIVE for the 2024 BladeForums Traditional Knife

Traditional Knife Information Thread - make sure you go in there and read up.

Requirements: Be a Gold or higher member or have been a member of the forums since 6/2023 with at least 100 posts in the Traditional Forum. Preorder is for people who live in the continental US only, international orders will be separate.

Delivery expected in Q4 2024, hopefully before the holidays.

User Name
    Serial number request

Best angle to sharpen SRK?

I just picked up a used Cold Steel SRK that does not appear to have been sharpened. The angle appears to be 30 degrees or more. I have a Lansky and was wondering if 25 degrees would be better. I was under the impression the makers usually use the best angle for a particular knife. I'm fairly new to the technical side of knives and would appreciate any help. Thanks

rk

I use 20 or 25. Start with 25, should work well, does for me. Maybe one of the experts like Joe Talmadge or someone might know more about this, for this particular knife...

What ever it is, its too much. I took mine down to somewhere between 22 and 25 and it cuts much better as a result.

Factories do not always sharpen to the smallest angle compatible with the rest of the knife's geometry, steels, etc. Some of this also depends on application.

I whittled mine in at 20 for the initial re-sharpening (and this was a bitch to do) and now all I use is a flat diamond to re-touch. I've found that on most 'wilderness' fixed blades, after you get the initial angle right, throw the fancy sharpeners away and use what you have with you. At least that works for me.
smile.gif
Jeff

------------------
Randall's Adventure & Training
jeff@jungletraining.com