best chef & paring knives

Hi! I have about 2 years of serious cooking experience, and I own a set of Zwilling knives. Growing up, my family used Wusthof and Cutco (they still do).

I almost exclusively use the Zwilling 4-star 8” chef and the Zwilling 4-star 4” paring knife. [the 8” and 5” serrated knives are useful, but the 5.5” santoku has never left the block].

I want to buy 2 amazing knives: a chef knife and a paring/petty knife. Ones that will last 50 years (with care) and look fantastic. I’m not concerned about the price, only the quality. I know that at a certain point I’m paying for art, which is not my current intent.

What type of knives should I look at? And what about the Chinese-style and Japanese-style blades, vs European?

I will also read through other threads here and also see what knives the experts use (and filter out marketing).

I’m excited to engage with this community! Thanks

Well any good knives should last 50 years with care, depending on use. A lot of the best blades don't look as pretty, but that can be balanced with a custom handle. Some can be polished out too.
Now styles of blade, first you need to know your usage style. A rock chopper would prefer a big belly. If you abuse a blade, European knives are better for you.
Then there is the question of sharpening - any blade will go dull with usage and dull is dull. The Japanese knives especially don't come as sharp as they can get. They expect the buyer to do the finish sharpening, though they have been sharpened.

So - Chinese, Japanese, and European blades.