Best knife for Army Ranger

My cousin is preparing for Army Ranger school. I'd like to get him a quality blade as a graduation present. I'm thinking a multitool or an edc sized folder that's max reliable and tough enough for war over the big heavy Kbar. I'm relatively new to this blade infatuation, & I'm partial to the big choppers. I will need to stay at or under $100. It's important that I do my homework if I'm going to put a weapon in his hand that his life may well depend on. From what I've seen, this is a great place to go for those that know. I'd appreciate advice from any of you that have military experience or well seasoned opinions about blades/tools. Thank you.

Not to be a jerk but wait till he graduates as many don't.

For a neat historical piece the Fairbairn-Sykes is cool and goes back to WWII for them. After that, it is really personal preference and what unit he goes to and their mission. The 75th will be a lot different than if he's a ranger qualified guy in a mech infantry unit.

Not to be a jerk but wait till he graduates as many don't.

For a neat historical piece the Fairbairn-Sykes is cool and goes back to WWII for them. After that, it is really personal preference and what unit he goes to and their mission. The 75th will be a lot different than if he's a ranger qualified guy in a mech infantry unit.
He's in Army Intelligence w/ jump school training. I'm not sure what he would do as a ranger though. I'd rather do my research early, and I wouldn't bet against him for graduation. The Fairbairn-Sykes dagger is definitely a consideration and looks like a straight up combat weapon, which may be the way to go if that's what the mission calls for. However, I was thinking something small that could serve him for a wide variety of tasks.

This question comes up once in a while.