Best US made flipper

bort2.0

Gold Member
I'm pretty new to knives, so forgive the lousy question based on opinions. But, here goes.

I kind of jumped in the deep end and bought a few Shirogorov knives to get myself started. I love the quality of materials, fit/finish, and the sleek and clean appearance. These things are NICE!

But, I'm finding myself wanting to carry Made in USA knives instead. Really prefer flippers now.

So... What's the best options for US Made, high quality, fancy steel, not flashy or crazy looking, etc...?

I really want something simple and clean like the Shiro... But made in the US. Intended for full time EDC and use, not collecting.

I love the idea of the Chris Reeve knives, but, blasphemy... I just don't like the handles very much.

Budget is about $500.

Ideas? Thanks!

I've never owned a Shiro but I own (and have owned) some pretty high end knives.

The best flipper I've ever experienced is the ZT 0456, if you can find one. (I only own a few flippers, but it is better than any other I've tried.)

Just get rid of the cheesy pocket clip with an aftermarket titanium clip and it's a classy, if somewhat heavy knife in 20CV. Cuts well, too.

"Whitty" at USA Made Blade raves about his, and its performance. Not a lot of money either.

It's fancier than my usual fare, but I love the blade and the action.

maxresdefault.jpg

Probably a little over budget, but a Koenig really does flip like a dream, and I always consider it as the 'flipping' CRK.

Other good flipper would be ZT562Ti, but without flipper tab, I'd recommend Spyderco PM2/PM3, BM 940 series.

ZT 0357. I've seen it on the 'Zon go on sale for like 110$.

Have fun!

Edit: oh holy s*** just noticed your budget lol, I wish I can afford that!

IF I have 500, I would get a smaller hinderer, I think Olamic is well made but the design is a little out there.

Last edited: