Best way to remove minor rust

Any one have recommendations how I can remove some minor rust? I have a nice 22" Chitlangi and I noticed some minor rust towards the tip of the blade on one side. Should I use a kitchen pad to scrub it or some fine steel wool or even 2000 grit sandpaper? What about brasso would that work since it is a mild abrasive? I want to try to keep the mirror finish on it if possible, I know I can use simichrome after the fact. I am new to this, so any advice is appreciated. Thanks!

2000grit or a rag with some brasso will work just fine. You probably won't even have to use the simichrome after, but I guess you can always evaluate that yourself after you take the rust off ;)

Brasso, flitz, neverdull, chrome polish all should work well.
For nasty rust some WD-40 and 0000 steel wool, but you may have to rebuff the blade to restore the mirror finish.

Last edited:
A little Brasso on an old t-shirt worked just fine. Just a little elbow grease. Thanks everyone.

On a related subject what about scuffs? The previous owner left a few scuffs, a few I can faintly feel with my fingernail. Will 0000 steel wool take those scuff marks out or will the steel wool scuff up the mirror finish? Or are the scuffs from the steel wool minor enough that some simichrome will work it out with a little elbow grease and a rag. Thanks again for the help.

the traditional way is to smear your thighs with melted green rouge buffing compound. Then clamp the handle of the khukuri in a vise (padded of course), turn around and slide the blade between your legs. Then all you have to do is something like this: [Content Removed]

Last edited by a moderator:
Very funny! That was way too flat for me. If you were going to send me something like that, you should have sent me something with a little more junk in the trunk, or a little more round and tight.

On a more serious note, if anyone has any advice on my above post, thanks!