Black Kershaw Groove or Black Pacific Salt

For an edc blade I think a knife with more belly is better. I know that most of the cutting I do is with the belly or the tip. So I think that the Spyderco is the better edc blade. That said are you sure you want the Pacific Salt? I kinda think that for a edc blade a smaller blade might be better, so maybe the Salt H1 would be better. The main drawback to a black blade is that it gets scratched up and makes the knife look beaten up. Also one of the uses for a coating is to prevent rust, so for the Salt series knives it seems to be redundant.

Thanks for the tips.
I'm a novice when it comes to knives...so, no I'm not sure I want the Pacific Salt. I just liked the way it looked.:)

The Salt H1 was actually the knife I was leaning toward, before I got caught up in the black craze. If the black on the blade scratches then I don't think I'd want one.

Go with the Spyderco much better IMHO. The Kershaw Groove I had would rust like a SOB no matter what I did to it.

I'm a big Kershaw fan, but I think you'll like the Spyderco better as an all around EDC. Though if you can, get that tanto Groove too, it's a neat knife and is still quit usable as an EDC.

Pac Salt definitely. It's an unrustable Endura, which is a classic. I love mine.

Light, ambidextrous, good simple lock, thumbhole which I like much more, and did I mention totally rustproof? Even if you're not in a humid environment, you don't have to worry about sweat or food acids or anything at all. I can't think of a better all-round EDC, except maybe one of the Boye Dendritic Colbalt knives, but they are much more expensive. Strongly consider getting it in yellow, it's harder too lose, looks unique, and looks less like a weapon.

Josh K

Pirate
In my opinion, the tanto groove looks like a folding shank. There have also been reports of lots of rust from Kershaw's blasted blade finish.