Black Oxide Coating Durability

Kalsu

Gold Member
So I haven't been around here for a while. So when I started looking at OKT knives again I noticed that a lot of them are now sporting a black oxide coating. They look great. I have no experience with black oxide coatings and am wondering how durable it is?

So I haven't been around here for a while. So when I started looking at OKT knives again I noticed that a lot of them are now sporting a black oxide coating. They look great. I have no experience with black oxide coatings and am wondering how durable it is?

My first OKT knife came with the coating. It is an interesting coating, I was familiar with it but never owned one coated like this before. It is not like DLC with a thick layer, paint like coating. It is more like a "stain" applied to the metal. It wears and lightens from use giving it an antique like appearance but doesn't seems to affect the rust protection. The coating stays in the pits and irregularities of the metal very well. I personally like the look of it.

My first OKT knife came with the coating. It is an interesting coating, I was familiar with it but never owned one coated like this before. It is not like DLC with a thick layer, paint like coating. It is more like a "stain" applied to the metal. It wears and lightens from use giving it an antique like appearance but doesn't seems to affect the rust protection. The coating stays in the pits and irregularities of the metal very well. I personally like the look of it.

The coating is applied very thin. I ended up getting a warthog with the black oxide coating. I am excited to see how it wears.
Man I love those warthogs. Great knife.

So I haven't been around here for a while.

It was fun times when the sales were here and people were hanging around talking knives on a regular basis. We need to revitalize the OKT Forum!