blade length

Can anyone help me? How do you measure blde length? Is it from the point to the handle, point to the end of the edge(riccasso) or the length of the cutting edge? HELP!

Gary

Different jurisdictions = different interpretations of blade length. Some specify that the length of the cutting edge is the blade length. Most probably measure from the handle to the tip, in a straight line, but the fly in that ointment is that some knifes have no separate handles, or handles that are far back from the cutting edge. The Texas Penal Code does not specify how to measure blade length, but since the limit in TX is 5.5", I have little worry since I rarely carry a knive with a blade longer than 4.5". ( I am speaking here from a civilian point of view, but, being a peace officer, I can carry my biggest Bowie or brush sword legally. ) ;)

I looked at your profile, and seeing you live in California, I believe you will have little legal problem carrying anything that can be defined as a "normal" folding pocket knife. Cold Steel used to advertise their largest monster folders as being California legal. Make sure that you check on RECENT laws, because there have been major changes in California's knife laws in the last few years. Just DO NOT carry ANY size fixed blade knife CONCEALED in California!!!!

Thank you all for your replys but my problem is this; even though california does not specify a length the various cities around Los Angeles do. I have been told that the max length for LA proper is 3.5 in and a lot of my knives are close to that length. It all depends on how you measure them

Gary

Someone definitely has wrong information. Here's the applicable sections of the Los Angeles Municipal Code:

SEC. 55.10. CARRY KNIVES OR DAGGERS IN PLAIN VIEW PROHIBITED.
(Added by Ord. No. 162,995, Eff. 1/7/88.)