Blade on a plane?

I will be going to Colorado soon and this is my first time on a plane. I want to take my Calypso Jr.,full serrated with me. Can anyone help me with the law on this? The flight is out of Newark, N.J. I'll just have carry on luggage. Thanx.
Mick
ps. Any suggestions other than my original choice will be appreciated.

The conventional wisdom is:

Try Spyderco Delica or a Benchmade small Ascent 820, in plain edge. There's no known law against serrated edges on airplanes, but enough airport security people have found them "menacing" that it's best to go with plain edge. The two models I mentioned are inexpensive enough that if you lose the knife to overzealous security you won't be hit too hard in the wallet.

I did fly with a fully serrated Endura once, with no problem, but that may not be a reproduceable result.

Alaska Airlines sometimes serves bagels that are in need of cutting.

------------------
- JKM
www.chaicutlery.com

Take it from an all-too-frequent flier, if you're set on taking the fully serrated Calypso check your bag. You'll spend some time retrieving it later, but will be spared the possible hassle at security. Otherwise, you might want to follow James' advice & opt for an inexpensive alternative.

I've flown out of Newark quite a bit & have been hassled for the computer cables (i.e., security, LAN, telecom, etc.) in my briefcase. Also, since this topic has been discussed before, do an archive search for relevant articles.

Enjoy Colorado. It's a great state.

------------------
--+Brian+--

James and Brian, thank you both for saving me some time and trouble. I wont take the Calypso, I have a spydie M.Walker lightweight that seems like it will be ok.
Thx again.
Mick

NP, Mick. 9 out of 10 times security is not a problem, but it's just not worth the grief that 10th time. If you want a laugh, search my "Most embarrasing knife moments" thread.

------------------
--+Brian+--