Blowing a 2 X 72" belt

I've read before that when you blow a belt is sounds like a gun being fired. I found out tonight first hand what it sounds like. Before it blew it made a thrashing noise for 3 or 4 seconds as it was shredding which gave me time to move away and then it blew. As loud as a gun shot it scared the crap out of me. I'm new at this so everything is a learning experience. Now I've learned about blowing a belt and I hope it doesn't happen again. More good fun in the life and career of a knifemaker.

:yawn: Well it will happen again one day. It is a learning experience. I blow one as well a long time ago. We all do that. Be safe and stand to one side when you can. When I blow my frist belt I did not make it to the restroom in time. But I went right back out there and went to work. It happends to all of us. God bless and be safe.

Barkes

Yep, always gets the old ticker revved up a bit when they go off in your face.:eek:;)

I had a student here last year and I heard the belt start to let go, the same somewhat shredding noise you described and tried to shove the student out of the way and he fought me, until it blew. Sounded just like a .45 at face level. Slapped him a couple of times too. Made a believer out of him, for sure.;):D