Boker Helios: Need info, please.

I've been trying to find a well-made, clip-point, 3.5"-bladed, tactical folder; with a reliable lock and Tip-down carry.... I think Boker's Helios fit that description well. But, I have no experience with this particular model; and limited experience with Boker.

I would like to hear from anyone who owns that particular model:
Would you recommend it?
How good is X-15, compared to other blade steels?
How far up the handle is the clip positioned, if you attach it for tip-down?
How strong is the lock?
How comfortable, or uncomfortable, is the thumbstud?

Any help will be appreciated. Thanks, in advance.:thumbup:

Monocrom said:
How good is X-15, compared to other blade steels?

This is the only one I can help with. I don't own one, but I've had other knives with X-15.

X-15 is one of the "rust proof" steels, and as such, is kinda in it's own class as far as blade steel is concerned. The only thing I can really compare it to is H-1. It has very good edge holding, better than H-1, but is less rust resistant than H-1(but only barely)

It's an excellent corrosion resistant steel, many other companies also use it. It polishes quite nicely too.

Not sure how hard it is to sharpen though, haven't had the chance yet.

Aloha Monocrom!

Great to see you here!

I had been given a Helios by our very own TJT. (Thanks again Terry!)

Let's get to your questions:

Yes, I recommend it. It is a very well made knife. A bit on the thick side (I am used to carrying Spydeis after all:eek: ) but it is lighter than it appears to be. Be advised however that the tip sits very close to the scale when closed, like the Spyderco E4 models. However, I have never had the Helios open in pocket...thank God! The "grit tape" traction is great, and keeps the Helios in hand.

Boker's X15 is a great steel. It has that "toothy" bite to it, and have noticed that it is a bit more scratch resistant than H1. I have not managed to make this knife rust yet.