Bolster help

JTB_5

Gold Member
I'm relatively new to the traditional knife world, and after recently buying a GEC#35, I happened to drop my knife on the pavement, which led to some scuffing on the nickel/silver bolsters (both ends). I was wondering what the best way to go about smoothing out those scuffs would be. I'm guessing there is an old thread somewhere, but a quick search didn't pull anything up for me. Anyone have any advice for me?

Thanks!

Might post a pic of the scratches & scuffs on the bolster. Depending on how deep they are, an appropriate grit choice of wet/dry sandpaper (silicon carbide) will clean it up. Then sanding up through a fairly tight grit sequence, to 2000 or so, will ready it for polishing, using something like Flitz or Simichrome, Mother's Mag polish, etc.

Usually, around 400-600 grit is a good place to start. It'll leave a medium satin finish, after which a sequence like 800 > 1200 > 1500 > 2000 will get it back in near-polished shape, to be followed by the polishing paste.

But I'd still suggest posting a pic or two. If the scratches aren't so bad, you might not have to start as low in the sanding sequence to fix it.

David

I don't think the scratches are that bad. I'll try to post some pictures if I can figure out how to do so. When going through the progression of grits, about how much time should I do each one, or what should I be looking for specifically?

I don't think the scratches are that bad. I'll try to post some pictures if I can figure out how to do so. When going through the progression of grits, about how much time should I do each one, or what should I be looking for specifically?