Buck 701

Hi everyone,
I recently was given this Buck 701 that was found clearing out an estate and was hoping to get some information on it. I've been collecting knives for only a couple years, and most of mine are modern folders, so I don't have much knowledge about traditional knives. I've read that 701s made before 1986 are more rare and collectible, and wanted to know how I can tell when it was made. The packaging and paperwork seem pretty old, but the knife has just been stored brand-new by the looks of it. I might like to carry it as a gentleman's knife, but if it's something rare with some value, I might rather sell or trade it for some thing I'm more interested in, but at this point I'd just like to know more about it. Thanks in advance.

I'd maybe post in the Buck specific subforum, there are avid buck fans there who are bound to know.

Let us move this question to the realm of all Buck knowledge... The Buck Knives Forum.

Very nice knife and looks to be in mint condition.

Buck started using date codes in 1986. They used symbols to indicate the year of manufacture and they stamped the symbol on the tang just to the right of the pattern number. Your knife has no symbol meaning that it was made prior to 1986.

I was told on another forum that the 700 series ran from 1979-2001 so if that is the case then your knife was made between 1979-1985. With so many of these having been made, they are not what I would call rare. You could probably find a few mint examples out there at reasonable prices.

If you collect knives then I think that this knife is a worthy piece for your collection whether you decide to carry it or not. I recommend hanging onto it.

Yours has a script badge on the scale but a non script BUCK blade stamp.
The info Rail supplied about the blade puts yours 79-85 but we need to know when the badge went from script to block. Looks like yours was the year of the change knife???