Buckeye Burl

Found some big blocks of buckeye burl today at a woodworking store. They are covered with wax to retain moisture content. Does anyone know what I can treat this with once cut so that it doesn't crack, wharp, and become useless? I don't believe it has been kiln dried, as they would not guarantee me the moisture content. I have never used this material before, but thought about putting it on a knife I am donating to Pheasants Forever organization. Any info would be appreciated.

I have just been cutting up some blocks of exotic burls this week and am wondering the same thing. In my case, I have some Amboyna Burl that is very dry and light. It has not warped at all once I cut it. The Tasmanian Eucalyptus Burl is a totally different story however, wet and incredibly dense and it wants to move all over the place. My understanding is to cut up into some large chunks, wait a few weeks, then cut smaller, wait a bit more, etc. In between you can slow down the drying by applying danish oil to freshly cut blocks then wrapping in plastic with some sawdust. This is a method that I have just read while researching this very subject, but I would be anxious to hear how more experienced makers actually do this. I guess there are no shortcuts with wood and they just need time to age.

Try green wood sealer from Rockler. It goes only on the board ends and not the whole slab. Makes it easier to work with if it isn't soaked in wax.Or you could send me some and I'll test it for you.
Take Care
TJ

The short simple answer is:
Cut it about 25 to 30% bigger than you need.
It WILL twist and deform somewhat so allow the extra. The faster it dries the more cracks and checking you get.
Put it into a controlled drying area. Because I live in AZ moisture is not a problem.