BUDO: The Art of Killing documentary sword footage

Mecha

Titanium Bladesmith
Knifemaker / Craftsman / Service Provider
I have an interesting and obscure documentary about the Japanese Budo, and have uploaded the sword segment for all to see. It was said to contain the first slow-motion, high-speed camera footage ever taken of cutting with a Japanese sword. Enjoy!

Sam

The swordsman that is featured in that documentary was my instructor for many years

His name is Suji

He was one of the highest ranked Kendo practitioner’s In the country

That was filmed when he was a young man

Here we are together many years ago in New York at a Kendo tournament together

I was in my 20’s he was in his 50’s

I trained under him for 5 years ...3 nights a week 3 hours a night

He taught me Kendo , Iaido and Iku Jitsu

When he went back to Japan I was very sad

Sam

The swordsman that is featured in that documentary was my instructor for many years

His name is Suji

He was one of the highest ranked Kendo practitioner’s In the country

That was filmed when he was a young man

Here we are together many years ago in New York at a Kendo tournament together

I was in my 20’s he was in his 50’s

I trained under him for 5 years ...3 nights a week 3 hours a night

He taught me Kendo , Iaido and Iku Jitsu

When he went back to Japan I was very sad

Damn, that is cool. Small world...or small internet. Had you seen that documentary footage of Suji before?

IMO. the entire film is worth reposting from time to time. Although panned in Japan when repleased, there are quite a few memorable moments. Taking on a locomotive and chopping glass bottles amongst them.

Cheers
GC

IMO. the entire film is worth reposting from time to time. Although panned in Japan when repleased, there are quite a few memorable moments. Taking on a locomotive and chopping glass bottles amongst them.

Cheers
GC