1. BladeForums has ZERO TOLERANCE for extremism or calls of violence. We request your assistance dealing with this as we do not want to see the site shut down due to violent threats. Please see this thread here in Tech Support: https://www.bladeforums.com/threads/bladeforums-has-a-zero-tolerance-policy-towards-threats-of-violence-extremism-be-warned.1769537/

Recommendation? Cable Damascus blade shape feedback

Discussion in 'Shop Talk - BladeSmith Questions and Answers' started by ERRN, Jan 13, 2021 at 9:16 PM.

1. ERRN

ERRN Gold Member Gold Member

Aug 29, 2015
    I had another go at cable Damascus and ended up with a pretty decent weld up this time. I’m still learning how to widen a work piece without drawing it out, so this blade didn’t quite hit the dimensions and proportions I was going for. The whole thing turned out longer and narrower than I had planned, and I’m wondering if the handle is just way too long, and if I should shorten it before finishing this one up or any other suggestions on tweaking the shape. Normally I’d just toss it in the wonkey pile and move on, but I’d like to try and pull something serviceable out of this since I’d like to see the cable Damascus results. I’m just curious what some fresh and more experienced eyes would say. The more I stare at it, the more I hate it. Appreciate any feedback kind or harsh.
    [​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. argel55

argel55

Oct 30, 2005
    You must have small hands because I would like it that long. Especially with that big a bladed knife.

3. ERRN

Aug 29, 2015
    I have pretty meaty paws, but I also like a larger handle usually. That’s why I tend to get them a little too long sometimes.

4. Cliff Carter Knives

Cliff Carter Knives KnifeMaker / Craftsman / Service Provider Knifemaker / Craftsman / Service Provider

May 30, 2011
    I think it looks great! If it’s really bothering you, just bandsaw 1/2” off the end. Would still maintain aesthetics even with losing the 1/2”

ERRN likes this.
  5. scherf68