Calling all sharpeners

I recently came into possesion of a very cool, very old chinese (not japanese) sword...the problem is that it's dull ( like my swords sharp, even if they are antique) . I have no knowledge or materials for sharpening, but I know many of the experts on this forum do. If you wouldn't mind putting a very sharp edge on the sword for me please let me know, I'll pay shipping and such.

Try not to sharpen yr blade as it may change the geomentry of the sword since some are clam shaped (and is extremly hard to sharpen and yet keep its grind) and may devalue yr antique. why not have it appraised first to check its worth?

Please, please be careful. The historic (and esthetic) value of the sword may be destroyed by sharpening. If you check with an expert in sword appraisal they may be able to give you advice on restoring the blade, but I have heard of fine antique Japanese swords being polished by amateurs causing them to lose thousands of dollars in value, and seen fine antique American and European swords ruined by amateur restoration. (In addition, many mass produced US and European swords were not "sharp" in the modern sense, and some collectors may pay more for the original "dull" edge since they feel it's more historically accurate.)

Professional restoration of a blade can insure that it keeps it's value and will remain intact for future generations to enjoy. If you'd like a "using" sword there's plenty of reputable places to find such a thing, excellent quality copies of just about every culture and era. That way you don't have to worry about damaging the blade, since they're usually so much cheaper than the originals.

By the way, congratulations on your new acquisition! May it bring you many hours of enjoyment whatever you decide.

[This message has been edited by Snuffy (edited 11-17-2000).]

:
Matt you have been given some very valuable advice here.