Camillus CUDA 2S Tanto

ET

This is the knife that I won from the Bladeforums trivia contests. I think it was the 3rd or 4th knife to be given away. Let me first say that prior to me winning this knife, I had never heard of Camillus and had only vaguely seen the magazine ads of the 7 or so CUDA's in black and white drawings. Besides that, that was all the Camillus knowledge I had. It's a good thing all of that has changed with this CUDA.

Let me also say that I am by no means a professional knife reviewer. My current collection includes mainly Zytel folders from Spyderco and Cold Steel with my Spyderco Military being my most high-grade knife. My uses for knives are mainly around the house and yard such as cutting down cardboard, rope, weeds, letters and plastic packages that prevent me from nutrition.
smile.gif
I carry at least one folder on me daily for self-defense but have never had to use them for such a purpose. (Let's hope that trend continues) So here goes:

The exact knife is the CUDA 2S Tanto with a partially serrated, bead blasted blade. Upon first looks and handling, hefty and tough is the best way to describe it. It weighs in at 4.5 oz compared to the larger Military which is only 4 oz. The profile of the knife is fairly thick as well allowing for secure grip. It looks rather tough with but what Tanto point with some serrations doesn't? The whole knife also feels very rough. The G-10, the bead blasted blade, the opening device, the ridges in the index finger choil and the thumb rest all have this sandpaper/file feel to it.