Can ATS-34 be handworked?

I'd like to try my hand at knifemaking; I've drawn a little plan for a small, simple dagger and was wondering if ATS-34 would be a good steel to use. I don't have a bench grinder, just files and a Dremel. I'm also planning on using either linen Micarta or ebony wood for the grip scales. Can these be worked easily with a Dremel as well? Also, will I be able to heat-treat the steel afterwards with maybe a blowtorch or something? I'm a total beginner, so any help would be much appreciated. Thanks in advance!

Asha'man

------------------
Ó caíde sín don té sín nach mbaíneann sín dó.
"Since it’s no one’s concern, then no one should care."

You'll have so send the ATS-34 out for heat treat. Carbon steels can be heat treated with oxy/acetylene torches, but stainless steels need specialized gear. Yes, you can work ATS-34 with files, as long as it is annealed. You can file your handle materials as well. Dremeling handle material would take forever! I hope you have a drill press for drilling holes. If not, take things SLOW with a hand drill, and do everythign you can to drill straight. A drill press is more important than a grinder!

Good luck Asha'man. If you use the search function on this forum, you'll get tons of info you need. Search things like "hand filing blades", "finifhing handles", "knife making", etc.

------------------
"Come What May..."

as crayola said you can work anealed(soft) ats-34 with files no problem. if you send the filed blade with a few bucks for shiping i will send it out with my next batch for heat treat. 814 3rd st,#H santa monica ca, 90403

------------------
Laurence Segal www.RHINOKNIVES.com

I prefer to do my own heat-treating and so far have had good luck using O-1 steel. I also like the patina that carbon steel blades get with age and use. Using the search function here will turn up great info on heat-treating and tempering different steels. Good luck, let us know how it goes!
smile.gif