Can someone explain to me why Regular Sebenza are expensive?

I'm kind of new to the whole CRK thing, but I've been checking out the exchange and it seems to me the Regulars really hold their value and a lot of folks want them. Can you explain to me why that is the case?

Thanks

My short answer: Supply & demand. ;)

My personal answer: They're the best! :D

I'm pretty sure a lot of folks here can offer more informative replies than mine, "but that's my story & I'm stickin' to it." :)

I faced the same issue getting into this hobby.

heard a lot about them, so I went to a fine cutlery and handled a bunch, they do feel great and solid.

Theyre not for everyone though, some people like flippers or other blade materials.

Also, because they are so well made, use does not reduce their quality as much as in other knives. A used sebenza still has excellent tolerances, e.g.., and still works beautifully.

When you say Regular, do you mean the older model, or plain jane Sebenza 21's of any age?

Where to start...mmmmmh... well first of all the have been discontinued for quite a while, they were last made in 08 so as mentioned before it comes down to supply and demand, most people who have them don't want to sell so there are limited numbers available out there. Personally I can tell you what a lot of knife nuts think about this, blade shape, design, steel(s30v and bg-42) which a lot of people prefer over s35vn and simply the overall experience of having and handling one, they just grow on you for some reason and bring you some kind of personal satisfaction, I guess that's something you have to go experience for yourself and then you'll get it and learn to appreciate it.

Sebenzas are in a class all by themselves. They combine Chris Reeves' unique design, uber-stringent quality control, state-of-the-art materials and real-world utility. It's not easy to find all those qualities together.