Carving/Whittling Projects

Jonny D

Gold Member
Just seeing if anyone would like a place to post their carvings and whittling projects in progress or complete.
image_zpsdaf58452.jpg
[/URL][/IMG]
This is my first attempt at a tobacco pipe tamper with a wood spirit/gnome face. If there is already a thread like this let me know please.:D

I used to "whittle" stone and a bit of wood. Here are a couple of early First Nations Pipe bowls, a little owl and a small Haida pole that I put aside a few years ago. I think I have posted the inlay work before , a Navajo Yei person in different stones. I use the coping blade in the bottom picture for most of my whittling.

Best regards

Robin

Last edited:
Hey folks, make sure you include the traditional knife or knives you used to carve/whittle your project so we can keep this here. Thanks!

Pretty neat stuff I'm seeing. I used to whittle some when I was a kid in Boy Scouts but haven't in a long time. Maybe this will get me interested again.

Here's some of my favorite knives and whittlin' projects from a few years ago before I broke my hand.
IMG_21011_zps16ca49fe.jpg

I won a Conductor whittler in a giveaway here, and the stipulation for the winner was to actually whittle something. This was my attempt, a dolphin's head. The diamond steel shown was used a couple times during the carving to keep the edge razor sharp.

1stWhittle_zps5cc6e0c9.jpg~original

I usually have a few little projects going at any time. It seems rare to actually finish anything though, but I whittle to relax, not necessarily with any goal in mind.

I've been working on the little squirrel on & off (more off than on...) for about 6 months. The spoon & chain were done sitting around the campfire during the last camping trip. I make the little mushrooms all the time, they're just fast & simple.

[url=https://flic.kr/p/ojZ1TU]

[url=https://flic.kr/p/oBtt1i]