ceramic bladed knives

Hi Folks - I apologize if this is one of those "oh no, not this again" topics. Just trying to get some guidance on ceramic bladed knifes. I am looking for an "EDC" style folder or possibly a fixed blade. I have no experience with ceramic blades. I currently EDC a Spypderco CF Sage in S30v. Great knife -- Just looking into some other options.

Thanks!
brew

They're far too fragile for EDC type tasks IMO and a pain to sharpen, not a normal pain mind you. They're very prone to chipping and should be used only on very soft matter IMO, but my last ceramic knife was several years ago. I'd never buy one again.

I have a ceramic Kyocera chef knife. I don't think I'd ever get another ceramic blade. I can't really change the blade geometry if I'm unhappy with it. I would really only recommend them to those people who aren't knife knuts and never sharpen their stuff.

As others said, too brittle for normal knife use. I got my mom a ceramic victorinox santoku knife for mothers day a few years ago. It was great for a while, sliced foods real easy, but I inspected it after a few months and the edges was pretty badly chipped. I would guess it still cuts ok but the ceramic is not tough.

You get a nice shot of adrenaline when you drop a $100 ceramic knife. ;)

That said, if you still want one, Boker has a couple edc folders that look nice--anti MC and anti gravity I think.

I wonder if some of those chips are from other utensiles? Most non-knife people just toss them in a drawer, dishwasher, etc..
I personally avoid those knives, they will get dull, and are way too hard to sharpen easily.

The only knife I would consider getting with a ceramic blade is a paring knife. I see no other practical use for a ceramic bladed knife. As mentioned, it's too brittle for EDC use.

I chipped a ceramic knife after having it for one week. I threw it away.

Unless you are trying to get through a metal detector with a blade I see no reason in having one.