• Preorders are LIVE for the 2024 BladeForums Traditional Knife

Traditional Knife Information Thread - make sure you go in there and read up.

Requirements: Be a Gold or higher member or have been a member of the forums since 6/2023 with at least 100 posts in the Traditional Forum. Preorder is for people who live in the continental US only, international orders will be separate.

Delivery expected in Q4 2024, hopefully before the holidays.

User Name
    Serial number request

Ceramic blades

I am considering the purchase of a ceramic knife. Maddog has a mirage that i like , but my question is on the ability of the glass blade to take a razor sharp edge .Have any other forumites tried these blades for edge holding? I will be using this knife for the up coming moose season.
Thanks BUDMAN

I have no experience with Mad Dog ceramic, but I have used a Kyocera 4.5" fruit knife a lot. It doesn't have a razor edge, but it has a fairly coarse edge that comes sharp and stays sharp, and just keeps cutting and cutting and cutting. Don't try to pry or twist with it.

------------------
- JKM
www.chaicutlery.com

I have experiance.The Micro and the Operator do not do razor sharp edges.They are no good for push cutting.What they will do is slice,and they will keep on doing it.

------------------

The other thing with ceramic blades are they aren't easy to sharpen once dulled.They stay sharp longer but sooner or later they will need to be sharpened.
Bob