Collecting-Makers, and Knives, Random Thoughts

Kohai999

Second Degree Cutter
Happy Holidays All,

I've been collecting knives, custom, and factory for 20 years. I'll be 39 in January. I'm still as passionate about it now, maybe more, as I was in 1985 when I bought my first custom, a boot fighter from Larry Page, with "mountains and sunrise" cocobolo for $125.00, at the New York Custom Knife Show, at the Roosevelt Hotel. I thought all knife shows were going to be like that, boy, was I wrong!

Nick Wheeler gets a lot of stuff written about him on these forums. It is deserved. When I looked at his website a few weeks ago, and saw how clearly and cleanly he explained his philosophy on the craft of knifemaking, I was really moved. The kid is a gift to the community, and he is humble, and funny, and really listens.

Don Fogg recommended Nick to me as a maker last year. I like Don a lot, he has more talent in one hand than most do in their whole body. Don makes pretty much what he likes to make, and he doesn't give it away, but somehow, every piece that he makes lasts less than 24 hours on his "available work" section of his website. He recommended Vince Evans to make me a custom khukuri, and that worked out real well.

When Don recommended Nick, I looked for a website of his work, and found an old one, and basically was not real impressed, but just a little. This is when Nick was doing mostly stock removal, and he had the eye, and the skills were developing, but the confidence, and "voice" wasn't there yet. I called Nick to talk about Don's recommendation, and we arranged to meet at the OKCA show in April, this year. We chatted, and Nick said that he would send along some sketches of what he thought that I wanted, and we agreed on a delivery date, and the cost.