Concealed Weapons Permit Reciprocity

Hello All:

This is my first post here.

I am a FL resident with a FL Concealed Weapons Permit (good for not just handguns) and through reciprocity it is valid in about 24 states.

Would I be able to carry my usual automatic knife in the other states as well as my handgun?

My handgun would for sure be OK but not my automatic knife?

Yes, I realize I didn't list the 24 states. Too much to type.

Thanks, Steve

Don't carry an automatic knife concealed in Virginia. Back in 97 they changed their policy on concealed carry permits so they only apply to handguns. However, if your automatic has a pocket clip, and the clip-end is not obscured by a shirt or jacket, it may not be considered "concealed" -- but that is open to interpretation, as the law is not specific.

You have to check the laws for each state. Most states that have reciprocity with FL issue a Concealed FIREARMS license only. In those states a Florida CWP is honored only for firearms.

Thank you for the replies. Looks like I can only carry a concealed handgun when I leave FL. The laws are certainly strange.

Thanks, Steve

I found this:
Florida Licensing Page said:
FLORIDA'S RECIPROCITY STATES
Alabama (1,5)
Alaska (1)
Arizona (6,7)
Arkansas (1)
Colorado (1)
Delaware
Georgia (1)
Idaho (1,6)
Indiana (1,6)
Kentucky
Louisiana (1)
Michigan (1,4)
Mississippi (1)
Missouri (1,8)
Montana
New Hampshire (1,4,6)
New Mexico (1)
North Carolina (1)
North Dakota (1,3,6)
Ohio (1)
Oklahoma (1)
Pennsylvania (1,6)
South Dakota (1,3)
Tennessee (1)
Texas (1,6)
Utah (1,6)
Vermont (1,2)
Virginia (1, 6)
Wyoming (1)

(1) While Florida's law allows licensees to carry stun guns, knives, and billy clubs in a concealed fashion, the laws in these states allow for concealed carry of handguns or pistols ONLY, NOT WEAPONS IN GENERAL. Florida license holders are prohibited from carrying other types of weapons while in these states.