Custom Chef's Knives

Does anyone know of a custom maker of fine profesional chef's knives? I am looking for something unique, functional and elegant. I am currently using a Wustoff 10" Grand Prix and I love it, but as person who truly loves all types of knives, I want something special. I am a professional chef and this would be my working knife. I also just saw a chef's demo of Grey Kuntz, and he had a really interesting blade that had a succession of holes that ran along the length of the knife about 1/4 of an inch up from the edge. I'm assuming that this is to keep foods such as potatoes from sticking to the blade as you slice them. Anyone with ANY information, please let me know.

The very first thing that I'd ask of any potential custom kitchen knife maker is the thickness of their stock and as-built knives.
IMO, there's simply no reason that a full sized wide blade 10" bladed Chef's knife should *ever* be made of anything thicker than 3/32" stock. And of course, everything smaller should be of thinner stock. There are applications like cleavers where thicker stock might be desirable, but the first and foremost q I'd ask of any kitchen knife maker is: "Can you tell me the thickness of your 10" Chef's knife (or Santoku) as measured 1/2" up from the edge on the end closest to the handle?" If she said anything over 1/32", I'd look for another maker. But, that's just me.

Clearly, I must be in the minority on this opinion because companies like Henckels and others sell mere 6" forged blades that are a whopping 3/32" as measured 1/2" up from the rearmost portion of the edge and a monstrous 5/32" thick at the spine-handle junction everyday. It amuses me greatly that the first thing many knowledgeable cooks do with these is have them professionally reground to compensate for this "feature", (defect).