D2 vs Aus-8 in a Rat

I’m going to pick up a Rat 1, and trying to decide which blade.
I like the stainless/no rust aspect of Aus-8, but everyone seems to be so crazy about D2.
Even though it will see some sweat, I can keep it oiled if D2 is really going to have a much better edge retention and toughness??

What sharpening kit you currently possess should determine which vs you buy. Otherwise plan t go buy some dmt/diamond sets if you get D2.

I have several D2 knives that I regularly use around salt water, I have never experienced any staining on any of my knives. D2's edge retention is miles ahead of Aus-8. I am a complete novice at sharpening, but I can easily put a good working edge on D2, it's become one of my favorite steels because of that.

For a few bucks more, the D2 offers immense value. Arguably one of the best budget knives available. Worst I've had from D2 with literally no maintenance is a little spotting, which I've also had from other steels with more corrosion resistance. The edge retention gain is just so much that the tiny bit of maintenance you may have to do is worth it in every way (to me).

I was considering the Work Sharp (belt) Ken Onion edition. Would that work?

Yes, it will work fine. Diamonds are recommended (and rightfully so) for manual sharpening of high wear resistance steels, but powered sharpening is a different story. If you do go the WSKO route, I'd highly recommend forking over the extra cash for the Blade Grinding Attachment as well. It allows you much, much more control over the process. :thumbsup:

I'm going to jump on the bandwagon and say go with D2. AUS8 is OK, a decent steel for low price knives (I've got a bunch of CS folders in AUS8 and they work fine), but D2 runs circles around it when it comes to edge retention.