Dark Ops Knives Steel

Got a question regarding the steel used in Dark Ops knives (CTV-2 I think it is) is this a hard alloy to sharpen. Seems to me it would be but I am not an expert on knife steels.

A couple of people in my unit bought them due to the advertising and the fact that they were designed by a Navy SEAL. I personally am some what skeptical about these knives since I have yet to see any hard test data.

Is this steel going to be tough to sharpen in the field? Unit is on its way overseas.

Prefer my Spyderco Military and BKT crewman personally

Can't say what steel exactly it is. I find myself turned off the Dark Ops knives simply because of the OTT ad. Anyhow, I hear that those knives are similar to ??? Extrema Ratio knives, which use Bohler N690 steel. N690-, in turn is similar to VG10 steel which is more commonly used. That should make it a pretty darn good stainless steel. I have not found my VG10 hard to sharpen at all, much easier than the much-touted S30V steel.

As a general rule, make sure you pack a diamond hone and the sharpening job will be a heck of a lot easier in the field. Most of the higher-grade stainless steels ARE harder to sharpen (ATS34, BG42, VG10, S30V, D2 etc.) Good luck. Jason.

will62 said:
A couple of people in my unit bought them due to the advertising and the fact that they were designed by a Navy SEAL. I personally am some what skeptical about these knives since I have yet to see any hard test data.
Amazing. I personally am more than somewhat skeptical about these knives since I have yet to see that they really made any! Have those people in your unit taken delivery or did they just pre-order?

As far as I know, Dark Ops is an advertising campaign, not a knife company.