Delayed mail and packages?

Piso Mojado

Basic Member
Ballots.jpg

Here are two Chicago mail-in ballots for our November 3 election, one for me and one for my wife. Both were postmarked 24 September 7 PM at S SUBURBAN IL 604. I received my ballot on September 26. My wife got hers October 2.

S SUBURBAN IL 604 is the USPS South Suburban Processing & Distribution Center at 6801 W. 73rd Street, Bedford Park, Ilinois. Bedford Park is on the southwest border of the Chicago city limits: it's a 40 minute, 20 mile drive from my home in Chicago.

Local mail deliveries have never taken eight days here, but with the pandemic everything slowed down a day or two, and it's gotten worse since summer. We don't get mail six days a week anymore. Normally I mail ballots back within 48 hours. This year I'm waiting for early voting, which starts October 14. Each early voting site will have a drop off box for mail-in ballots, and the ballots will be date stamped that day. I've never done this before, and I've been voting by mail since 1972.

How is it where you are?

Last edited:
I vote in person. I in essence will not go out of town on business on election day (with candidates for US Congress, Senate, or President). I have missed a few local elections. But I don't live inside the city limits and can't vote for positions like mayor and so forth. I can vote only on state or county seats. I consider the impact much less for me than on what I call national elections. I have not missed a single election in over 20 years.

One year I drove 3 hours (each way) just to vote as I was out of town and left early to make it to the polls before they closed. After than experience, I simply will not go out of town on election day.

Sign up for informed delivery... it is a free service from the post office that tells you what to expect each day in your mailbox!