DIY Heat Treat Oven Build

Status
Not open for further replies.
I was asked to put something together on my heat treat oven so I'l try to provide some of the details and issues I ran into. This will be long so I'll try to break it up into sections. This project isn’t nearly as complicated as you might think and you can build an oven for 1/3 the price of buying one. I will post a you tube video of the oven Here:

Heres some pics of the oven.

https://flic.kr/s/aHskx6ZK6Z

First off, I give all credit to Dan Comeau Custom knives. He has an incredible site with all kinds of builds that are extremely detailed. For this build he even has an excel sheet to calculate you coil design so thanks to Dan for this. I'm a Civil Engineer, not electrical so if I made a mistake anywhere, please feel free to correct me.

I am Canadian but will use imperial measurements as it seems that it's mostly Yanks on here. Prices will be in CAD and Temperatures in F.

I designed this oven to be 240 volt and to run at 3000 watt. With a single element, this draws 12.5 amps (calculated) with a given wire resistance of 19.2 ohms. The internal dimensions are 14.5" by 7.5" by 6" high. I should be able to treat a 16" blade diagonally. This gives an internal area of 0.377 cu ft. At 3000 Watts. this about 8000 watts per cu ft. This is a bit overkill but I didn't want to have to wait an hour for it to heat up. It takes about 15 minutes to reach 1900 degrees F. The total cost of the oven was about $400.00 CAD plus Tax so close to $500.00

I bought the insulating firebrick and Kenthal Wire from the Pottery Supply House in Oakville Ontario.

https://www.psh.ca/.

Here’s an Amazon Link

https://www.amazon.com/Amaco-28035N...=8-2-fkmr0&keywords=insulating+fire+brick+k24