Does the Clip get in the Way?

I've been using a William Henry Evolution (Global 7) for a couple of months now. It has no clip, but comes in a "Clip Case". The knife is a joy to hold and use. I also have other William Henry knives without clips. The knives feel really right.

Now I know that this is a design issue, some knives may be designed such that the clip does not feel out of place or "wrong". But I'm thinking a lot of folders just feel better without the clip.

Then their is the convenience issue (the Clip Case solves this for me for 3" and under knives) of the clip that must be balanced against the "feel" of the knife in the hand.

I tried my Spyderco Rookie without the clip. Feels great. I'll be carrying it in my jacket pocket.

So, what are your thoughts? Is the clip the be all and end all for folders? Or is there another way?

Dean

("I'm out there Jerry, and I'm lovin' it!" Cosmo Kramer)

------------------
Non-controversial signature line follows: I like William Henry fine knives.

I tend to agree. At 3 inch and less they are more intrusive. As the folder gets larger they are less intrusive as well as more useful as large knives are less pocketable. This is rather simplified as it varies from one design to another but that is the tendency.

------------------
Roger Blake

I definately agree that almost every folder that I find to have that "just right" feel also do not possess a pocket clip.

Coincidence?

Maybe?

But I don't think so.

For feel.......Give me bone, stag, pearl, or wood and NO clip!!!

For everyday carry & functionality/work........Give me the clip back!!!
smile.gif

--The Raptor--

Clips sux! I removed the clips from both my REKAT Carnivore and Spyderco Military. They fit in my pockets just fine.
smile.gif
Folders just feel better without clips.