Drilling and WD40 vs. Cutting fluid

I'm new to knife making with only a couple of knives or so under the belt and I use WD40 for drilling holes because I have it around the garage, but it seems I can't keep drill bits sharp for anything. Correlation or coincidence? Should I get cutting fluid? What's the difference?

I've had no experience from using Wd40 where it helped with cutting. Actual cutting oil is much more effective.

WD-40 is a pretty poor lubricant in my opinion, get some real cutting fluid and you'll be happier for it.

You don't want a lubricant for cutting. Get some cutting fluid.

That said, I don't use any fluid. Just good drill bits. ;)

WD40 is mostly kerosene, a bit of alcohol and some other stuff.

It's good for thawing a frozen lock, or drying out a wet distributor, or cutting fluid on aluminum

It's a pretty useless cutting lube on steel

You can get real cutting fluid at home depot as pipe tapping fluid in the steel water pipe section
http://www.homedepot.com/p/Oatey-32-oz-Dark-Cutting-Oil-30204/202078159
However it's not really needed

first make sure your steel is annealed, HRA not just hot rolled

turn the speed down, it's probably too high.

make sure the drill is sharp, feed it fast enough to cut

Last edited:
"cutting fluid" doesn't do a whole in this application, so it is unlikely the fluid you chose will have much effect on anything. The primary thing is feeding hard enough to keep the drill cutting, but not so hard that you break down the cutting edge. Rubbing=wear. Overfeeding when the web exits the back of the work piece causes problems.

WD40 is useful on aluminum because it reduces built up edge, but doesn't do a whole lot on steel. It's function in this role is mostly as a coolant.

What type of drill bits? Hss, cobalt, unknown?
What brand of drill is it?
How many holes are you getting from a new bit?
What size hole are you drilling?
What is your rpm?
What is your feed rate?